Don’t wait – do it now!

Yesterday I saw something that got me thinking…    “Treasure your parents whilst you still have them.”

Hmm.  Being dragged out of bed in the middle of the night to fend off purple crocodiles and the big bad wolf.  Manipulating the octopus arms into the school uniform.  Squeezing cheeks to force a toothbrush in to spare the teachers’ olfactory system.  Rinse and Repeat.  Yes it’s a thankless task being a parent (well – most of the time).

But being a parent makes you realise that once upon a time someone did all of that for YOU.  And I’m guessing you didn’t thank them for it!
It’s sad that we can say the most amazing things about our parents once they are gone, yet it’s so hard to say it whilst we still have them.  What is it that blocks us?  Pride?  Fear?  Memories of their mistakes?  Thinking we have forever with them?

It took me a long time to appreciate all my mum has done for me.  Working herself to the bone when I was younger, just to put food in our bellies and clothes on our backs.  When we had our first child, mum made herself available for us.  As a new parent I started to see what a great lady she is.  She would cook for us, check up on us, encourage us as parents without being judgmental.  She taught me to work hard, put yourself out for others, smile despite what’s going on inside, take care of yourself, be hospitable and encourage one another.

After my son was born, my parents moved abroad (I sometimes joke that he drove them away!  The truth is far from it).  I know it was the right thing for them to do, but it has been hard knowing I can’t just pop over to see them whenever I like.  This year we hadn’t planned to go and visit them at all – our year is very busy and there is no perfect time to take a week off.  But I keep thinking – just how long do we have? – we don’t know what is around the corner.  So my husband graciously let me take the kids to spend a week with my parents.
It’s possibly the best thing I have done this year.  One day they organised a treasure hunt for the kids and knowing how I love to take photos, gave me the task of documenting it.  They all scurried around the garden helping each other complete tasks with the dog in tow. What a perfect day!

Treasure hunt with grandparents - Lifestyle Photography by Anna Marie

When did you last treasure your time with your parents?
Call them.  Visit them.  Take photos.  Take more photos.  Print them.  Frame them.
Don’t wait – do it now.

I strongly believe that beautiful photos make a house a home.  I think it is the reason Portraiture is coming back into fashion.  We are realising we have thousands of digital photos on our computers!  It’s the ones on the wall that impact your life.  If you don’t have the time or the resource to take beautiful photos, then hire a professional.  I want my services to capture the relationships between families and celebrate their lives.  I want my images to become the most important thing people own.

THE TIME IS NOWAuthor Unknown

If you are ever going to love me,
Love me now,
while I can know
The sweet and tender feelings
Which from true affection flow.
Love me now
While I am living.
Do not wait until I’m gone
And then have it chiseled in marble,
Sweet words on ice-cold stone.
If you have tender thoughts of me,
Please tell me now.
If you wait until I am sleeping,
Never to awaken,
There will be death between us
And I won’t hear you then.
So, if you love me, even a little bit,
Let me know it while I am living
So I can treasure it.

Grandparents - Treasure hunt. Lifestyle Photography by Anna Marie

2 thoughts on “Don’t wait – do it now!

Leave a Reply

